How to turn off Google location from phone
Google uses GPS trackers and sensors found in smartphones for location tracking. The company says that the location data collected in this way is used to provide a better user experience and show ads related to the places around them. However, hardly anyone would want Google to keep a complete record of their every move and movement. It is important that you turn off tracking for better privacy.
Quickly change settings in the Google app
Google app is installed by default on every Android device. After going into it you will get complete control over location data and you have to change some settings. For this follow below mentioned steps.
First open the Google app on the Android phone. Here at the top right, tap on your profile icon.
In the menu that appears on the screen you will see ‘Google Account’ written under your email id, tap on it.
Account related information will be shown along with your name and profile photo, from which you have to tap on ‘Data & Privacy’.
Scroll down in this section and you will see the ‘Location History’ option. After tapping on it, you will get the option to turn off ‘Location History’ and manage the current history.
Delete data from Google Maps timeline
When you have traveled anywhere, its data can also be saved on google map. It also needs to be deleted. You have to follow the steps mentioned below.
Update the Google Maps app on your Android phone to the latest version and open it.
A Saved option will appear at the bottom next to the Explore and Go options, tap on it.
By scrolling down you will see a ‘Timeline’ button, after tapping on it your location data saved in the map will appear as a timeline.
You can delete location data for a single day, or you can also select a time range.
You can delete all previous location data by selecting ‘Remove all visits’.
To prevent real-time location tracking, it is very important to always turn off the location option shown in your phone’s notification panel. Select apps may need this to know your location, in such a case turn location on for a while and turn it off again. Sure. Make sure only those apps are tracking your location that really need to do so